Get a Classic Car Insurance Quote in 90 Seconds
Enter the number of cars and State and click "Get a Quote
We have put together some important information and collected contacts for more sources of information on classic car insurance in California.
Age of Car - For classic car status in California, the car must be at least 15 years old.
Driver's License - the insured driver/owner must have had his driver's license for at least 10 years for classic car insurance consideration.
Daily Driving Vehicle - California classic car insurance requirements state that the owner MUST have a daily driving vehicle, which DOES NOT have to be insured by the same company insuring the classic car. The insured classic car is not to be used as a daily driving vehicle.
Required garage - as in nearly every state, a garage is required to store your classic or antique car in California. Why would you not garage your collectible car?
California Car Insurance Laws:
Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage
$15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident
Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage
$5,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Optional Insurance Coverage
Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. If a person chooses UM, the coverage must be purchased in at least the amount of required bodily injury coverage. If more than the required amount of bodily injury coverage is purchased, UIM can be purchased in a lesser amount. In California, insurance companies are not required to provide UM coverage in amounts greater than $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. If UM is purchased, UIM must also be included in the policy. Additionally, insurance companies are required to offer UIM in an amount equal to the amount of UM purchased. They are, however, permitted to offer greater amounts of UIM than the UM actually purchased.
California Department of Motor Vehicles
460 N. Humbolt Ave.
Phone: (800) 777-0133
The California DMV website has more information on auto taxes, vehicle registration, and making DMV appointments so you don't have to wait in line for hours
California Department of Insurance
300 South Spring Street, South Tower
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Phone: (800) 927 - HELP (4357)
The California Department of Insurance website has a wealth of knowledge for the insurnace consumer, including low cost auto insurance programs, California's Automobile Assigned Risk Program to help people who are having difficulty obtaining automobile insurance. Consumers can also check insurance companies' profiles, , get tips for filing insurance claims, and access general information about insurance.
Compare Classic Car Insurance Rates In Your Area...
Timeless Rides has categorized classic car insurers in every state for you to compare rates.